like Facebook follow Twitter watch YouTube subscribe RSS Feed

Where to get brood?

Home Forums HoneyLove Forum Where to get brood?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  James Crowell 5 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

James Crowell
    Participant

Hi,
    I am new to bee keeping and I am in need of some guidance and advice. I want to start a hive with a swarm. It’s my understanding that I would need some frames with brood inside my hive box. Where do I get the brood? Do I buy it, do other keepers lend brood frames out? If I can’t get any brood frames, what else can I try? Help a dude out. Thanks!
    James.

susan rudnicki

Hi, I think you may be misinformed about swarm establishment. A colony TRAP-OUT requires brood for the trap box. Brood is very valuable stuff and has to be obtained from another beek with the attendant nurse bees to care for it. What reading and mentoring have you done to reach this conclusion? HoneyLove has some very good mentoring classes, meetings with speakers, and opportunities to network to help you along. It is very important to do your self-education before acquiring the bees, so you are safe and confident—continual education must continue after that, also

James Crowell
    Participant

Susan,
    Thank you for responding. All of my research has come from various internet sources with the exception of honey love’s 101 class last week. There are so many contrasting views out there that it is exhausting. I plan on going to the meeting this coming Sunday. Me asking questions on the forum and joining honey love is my attempt at learning. I will take any advice I can get.

susan rudnicki