like Facebook follow Twitter watch YouTube subscribe RSS Feed

New Beekeeper – Question about Nucs

Home Forums HoneyLove Forum New Beekeeper – Question about Nucs

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Shane Holahan
    Participant

Hello All,

I am very new to Beekeeping (1 week in fact) and I live in NSW Australia. I have to admit that I became interested in Beekeeping for purely selfish reasons after I was given a jar of Raw local honey in November last year and had never tasted anything like it! I then started researching and quickly realised that with the issues bees and their keepers were facing, I wanted to play my small part to help. Its as they say, “if you aren’t part of the cure, you’re part of the problem”. It is no longer about honey for me, it is about doing everything I can to help the situation. I have read as much as I could over the last 4 months and I purchased my first Nucleus 1 week ago. I am wanting to keep my Hives chemical free and with the exception of the frames that I received as part of the Nuc, I will be using foundationless frames. I’m sure you guys know how the story goes, you get your first lot of bees and you cant help but watch them coming and going for hours on end! They are absolutely fascinating. But one thing that I have noticed is that the bees are taking a lot of pupae out of their hives and dumping them. For the first few days I’m pretty certain that the ones they were removing had been killed or hurt when they were transported to my place and were in their early pupae stage. But for the last 2 days, they have been dragging live pupae (black-eyed) out of the hive. I have been checking them and can find nothing visibly wrong with them. They have been removing at least 50 to 100 a day and in the grand scheme of things, this is only a small percentage compared to what the Queen lays daily. I completely understand that bees know what they are doing and there is a reason that they are housecleaning. I am tryin